“Firefly” Wins Best Picture; Vilma Santos, Cedrick Juan Bag Top Acting Awards At MMFF 2023

Here are the winners of the MMFF 2023!

The winners of the 2023 Metro Manila Film Festival were announced through the MMFF 2023 Gabi ng Parangal event on December 27, 2023 at the New Frontier Theater in Cubao, Quezon City. 

Vilma Santos bagged the Best Actress award for her portrayal in romantic comedy entry “When I Met You In Tokyo.” Meanwhile, Cedrick Juan clinched the Best Actor award for his performance in the period film “GomBurZa.” 

Vilma bested five nominees in the category:  Pokwang and Eugene Domingo for “Becky and Badette,” Sharon Cuneta for “Family of Two,” Beauty Gonzalez for “KAmpon,” and Marian Rivera for “Rewind.”  

Meanwhile, Cedrick Juan has reigned supreme over a pool of seasoned actor nominees: Alden Richards for “Family of Two,” Piolo Pascual for “Mallari,” Derek Ramsay for “KAmpon,” Dingdong Dantes for “Rewind,” and Christopher De Leon for “When I Met You In Tokyo.”

Miles Ocampo won the Best Supporting Actress award for her portrayal in “Family of Two,” while JC Santos bagged the Best Supporting Actor award for “Mallari.”

Director Pepe Diokno was hailed as Best Director for the film “GomBurZa.”

This year, the Best Picture award was given to GMA Pictures’ “Firefly” bannered by Alessandra De Rossi and child actor Euwenn Mikaell, who bagged the Best Child Performer award.

Second Best Picture went to “GomBurZa,” while “Mallari” and “When I Met You In Tokyo” were announced as 3rd and 4th Best Picture, respectively. 

“GomBurZa” went home with the most number of trophies with seven awards.

Here are the complete list of winners of the MMFF 2023 hailed at the Gabi Ng Parangal event:

  • Best Picture: “Firefly”
  • 2nd Best Picture: “GomBurZa” 
  • 3rd Best Picture: “Mallari”
  • 4th Best Picture: When I Met You In Tokyo”
  • Best Actress: Vilma Santos (“When I Met You In Tokyo”)
  • Best Actor: Cedrick Juan (“GomBurZa”)
  • Best Supporting Actor: JC Santos (“Mallari”)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Miles Ocampo (“Family of Two”)
  • Best Director: Pepe Diokno (“GomBurZa”)
  • Best Screenplay: Angeli Atienza (“Firefly”) 
  • Gender Sensitivity Award: “Becky and Badette” 
  • Best Child Performer: Euwenn Mikaell (“Firefly”)
  • Best Cinematography: “GomBurZa” 
  • Best Editing: “KAmpon”
  • Best Production Design: “GomBurZa”
  • Best Visual Effects: “Mallari”
  • Best Original Theme Song: Finggah Lickin (“Becky and Badette”)
  • Best Float: “When I Met You In Tokyo” 
  • Best Sound: Melvin Q. Rivera and Louie Boy Bauson (“GomBurZa”)
  • Best Musical Score: Von De Guzman (“Mallari”) 
  • Marichu Veraperez Memorial Award: Mother Lily Monteverde 
  • Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: “GomBurZa” 
  • Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Excellence Award: “When I Met You In Tokyo” 

The ten entries are still running in theaters and cinemas nationwide until January 7, 2024. 

READ ALSO: Here’s What You Need To Know About 2023 MMFF Entries 

Banner Art Paulo Correa

Get Hundreds of Discounts & Vouchers

Grab ₱100,000 worth of vouchers on food, home essentials, fashion finds and more!

Lush Sleep Body Lotion


Get weekly updates on new articles and deals.